The Journal Gazette

Home Search

New leader for commissioners

30-year county vet in 1st term on board

– Therese Brown will lead her fellow Allen County commissioners during the coming year after being elected commissioners’ president Friday.

Brown represents the 2nd District and is serving her first term as commissioner.

She has worked for Allen County government for more than 30 years. She began working in the Allen County Treasurer’s Office in 1979.

In 1985, she went to work in the auditor’s office. After working as deputy auditor, she ran for auditor and won.

She was auditor for two consecutive terms – all that is allowed by law – and then decided to run for clerk of the court.

She won and served two terms, from 2003 to 2010.

Nelson Peters, the immediate past president, serves the 1st District and was elected vice president. After being re-elected in November, Peters is beginning his third term as commissioner.

Linda Bloom was chosen to serve as the board’s secretary. She represents the 3rd District and has been a commissioner since 1995.

District 1 includes much of the east side of the county; District 2 encompasses the northwest; and District 3 covers the southwest portion of the county.

While they are required to reside within their specific districts, the commissioners are elected at large by all Allen County voters.

Copyright © 2014,