The Journal Gazette

Home Search

Te'o passes postseason awards record

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o passed former Michigan star Charles Woodson's record for national postseason awards Thursday night during Home Depot College Football Awards show in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Te'o's total grew to six when he was named the winner of the Maxwell Award, given to the player of the year, and the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's top defensive player, during the award show. He was named the Walter Camp national player of the year prior to the show.

Te'o, who is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, had already won the Butkus Award (top linebacker), Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player) and Lombardi Award (top lineman or linebacker).

Woodson won five awards in 1997, collecting the Bednarik, Nagurski, Thorpe (top defensive back), Walter Camp and Heisman.

Te'o, a 6-foot-2, 255-pound senior, has also won the ARA sportsmanship award and has been named a first-team All-American by CBS Sports and the Walter Camp Foundation, a national scholar-athlete by the National Football Foundation and a first-team Capital One Academic All-American.

View comments

Copyright © 2014,